It Came to Me in a Dream

Inspiration comes from many sources: books I’ve read, TV and movies I’ve seen, places I’ve been and places I’d like to go, conversations with friends, and countless other random sources that have worked their way into my mind over the years. But a few nights ago, and idea came to me from a source that was a bit unusual: a dream. It was a very vivid dream, with characters and emotions and back stories and locations as detailed as anything I’ve actually written. It’s not the first time I’ve had a detailed dream, but it was the first time that I’ve had a dream that was vivid and about something that was interesting enough to write about. Thankfully it occurred right before I woke up, so I remembered enough to immediately write it all down.

Of course, as the dream wore off, it did become a bit less interesting. Nevertheless, there’s enough of an idea to work with, and that’s what’s truly important. So maybe someday everyone will be reading a novel I wrote that began as a dream.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “It Came to Me in a Dream

  1. Indeed, who knows? Sometimes dreams can be inspirational. Go for it!

  2. I get quite a few ideas like that. in fact, my last nanowrimo was inspired by a dream I had last summer.
    Dream stories are some of my favourites now. I do hope you write it up and that we’ll be able to read it one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

