Feedback Feeds the Writer’s Spirit

Just recently I actually got a bit of feedback from people interested in Murder at the End of the World. Nothing major just a bit of enthusiasm at being able to read my book. Even so, it felt great, really great. People actually seemed excited about reading my book! Can you believe that? It’s hard to describe just how it feels to hear that from people, it’s almost like…validation? Feels like maybe I didn’t just waste all that time I spent writing. Of course, if my book’s not that great, then all that excitement is sure to fade a bit, but I’ve got hope. If someone derives enjoyment from my story, then…you know…that’s what it’s all about, right? If someone out there enjoys my book then good, bad, or somewhere in between, it doesn’t matter. I succeeded.

So, don’t be afraid to tell someone you love their books! Don’t be afraid to tell someone you hate their books! Writers feed off that feedback and get better, it’s what keeps us alive. It’s that little jolt of caffeine in the morning that wakes us up just enough to get going, it’s that kick to the backside that keep us from slacking off when things are slow. Well, maybe I shouldn’t be speaking for all the other writers out there, but I’ve come to realize that feedback is the very thing I need to keep writing day in and day out. Sure, a million dollars would be nice, but what if everyone still ignored my books? I’d much rather open up my email and see a few fan letters sitting there waiting to be read.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Feedback Feeds the Writer’s Spirit

  1. I always try to show my enthusiasm and, also, to be honest when I don’t like someone’s books/stories. Sadly, I’ve met a lot of people who send you books to review expecting only than you’ll like their work… And if you don’t, they get angry at you or never let you read their stuff again. :S But I guess it depends on each person’s ideas/feelings.

    Anyways, I haven’t begun to read your book yet, but the synopsis really sounded interesting, so I have great expectations! Hopefully, I’ll be able to join your pool of fans too. ^_~

    Hugs!

  2. I always try to be open-minded about criticism, because I realize that positive and negative criticism each have a purpose to play in the development of a writer. Positive criticism helps me to be more excited about my work, because I know that people enjoy what I’m writing. Negative criticism helps me to take a hard look at what I’m writing and to make the kinds of changes necessary to make the work better.

    Of course, it’s still never fun to hear negative criticism, but it’s no less vital because of that.

Leave a Reply

